Hi all.

Jun. 30th, 2005 03:51 pm
[identity profile] sadieyah.livejournal.com posting in [community profile] artists_beware
As much as it is tongue-in-cheek, thanks to [livejournal.com profile] ilea for the reference here. I had posted this to furry_lj_drama, for lack of a better place to put it, when I was directed here. I'm editing and ADDING to the post, after remembering some stuff.

REALIS

Some months ago, when I was doing free drawings on furry_connect, I did one for a fur calling himself Realis. He decided he liked the rest of my drawings enough to ask me for another, and I was cool with that, at the time. I'm all about practice, so I did this out of the kindness of my heart. The marker coloring I did, didn't come out as well as I would have liked. He agreed that the color could be better, nicely asking me to do the lineart over in digital color. I agreed to do that, too. I send him some unfinished digital coloring, and only THEN does he bother to whine about how the colors are "wrong" and send me color swatches. Afterward, he said, in exchange for being a pain in my ass when I was giving him free art in the first place, he'd pay me the price of a commission (I forget what I said it was). I WHOLEHEARTED agreed that the time I put into it was worth a commission price, and told him to do so. I gave him my contact info, and he says, "I'll pay you as soon as I get my next paycheck." Yeah, well unless he only gets one paycheck every six months, he's not held up his end of that bargain. AND I allowed him to print hard copies of the art on top of it, since it was a gift for his mate. We talked regularly for a few weeks afterward.

Anyway, I was willing to let this slide till the other day. After several months of not talking to me, he starts working me up to another commission. Knowing that I don't do free commissions anymore, he comes right out, and asks me how much it was gonna be. I tell him that I'm not really publically drawing art anymore, but since he was a friend, etc, etc, I'd do it, and it would cost approximately $25 for what he was asking me. He says, "Okay, I'll pay you for it next time I get my paycheck." This is when a little red light goes off on my head, and I tell him he has to pay up front. Now, this was about a week or two ago, and I haven't heard a -word- from Realis since.

Whilst talking to another artist friend, who was doing free commissions for a very long time (digital), I discover he's got a similar story. Realis set up to have a comission done... just one, at first. Even though Realis is again receiving FREE FREAKIN' ART, he asks the my friend to rework it. My friend is notoriously soft hearted, and complies with this. Later, Realis asks for a second picture, and my friend does that one as well. Realis goes even FURTHER in asking my friend for something like FIVE PICTURES for whatever his purposes were. After the completion and MUCH REWORKING of about three of them, Realis dropped off of my friend's radar entirely. He does not talk or communicate anymore.

It is more than clear to me, that Realis is milking artists for all they're worth, particularly those that are giving away free art. Now, you know, free art IS free art, but I think anyone who asks you to rework free art that isn't a gross misinterpretation of character is just a bitch. On top of that, he's shafted me money. I have a strong suspicion that he thought I would start commissioning that third drawing before I received payment, and that he'd receive it before he paid; and attempt me out again, without payment, EVEN THOUGH he SAYS he's going to pay for it. I wouldn't put it beyond this guy to say he's going to pay you, and then not do so. Demand payment up front, or just don't work with Realis. Please advise others of this.

On a personal note: I'm sorry Realis, you're a nice guy, personally speaking, but if you're gonna be an art whore, have the money to back up all your talk of payment. I don't care if you're a friend of a friend. That doesn't mean you should get away with the rip-off scheme you're running, time and time again. >:(

NAYA

I should note that this came up while the friend I mentioned was telling me about his commissions with Naya. She runs the moirajackal.com site, AKA Moira Jackal Costuming. Now, I haven't my own experiences to run from here, but he said that he paid her $120 commission to make him bunny ears, tail, and paws. She gave him a one-month estimate. At the end of that month she hadn't even started doing it. She gave my friend some sob story. Two months go by, and she only has PART of the ears done. She takes "progress pictures" for my friend. Friend tells me that these ears looked like REALLY low grade work. It hits a three-month marker. Now, this three month marker is the -absolute- deadline, because this ear/tail/paw thing was supposed to be a gift to someone. Naya has still neglected to finish it. She offered to refund my friend, but says that she "can't refund the materials for the ears", and that the remainder is $40. (Does that sound just a LITTLE unbalanced to anyone else??) My friend tells her to keep the money. (Etc, etc, etc.) Friend never receives goods, never receives REFUND. Since that's not my story, take it as you want to, but I'd look into the operations of Naya before dealing with her.

SPUG/ DIRTY BAKA/ DESENSITIZED

I should advise not to do art trades with Spug AKA dirty_baka AKA desensitized, (VCL & FA, LJ, and DA respectively), unless they are yaoi. I asked her to do an art trade with me YEARS ago. She shortly thereafter, disappeared. I saw someone gripe about her on LJ recently; she was doing such-and-such. I related the story to them. She eventually found said story, contacted me through someone we're mutual with, and promised to do the end of the art trade. I give her all the info. A month and a half later, maybe longer, I inquire about it. She says she needs the details. AGAIN. Uh. No. I'm not going to badger you to draw my effin' character for six months. I've got better things to do, and I can probably draw her better myself. I actually just kind of had the desire to smooth things over. As, like many art bitches, she is kind of cool. Other than the whole art-bitch thing.

Well, that's it. I'm out.
Sadieyah ~ Nonexistant Internet Entity

Date: 2005-06-30 09:28 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] wyna-hiros.livejournal.com
Just curious, but why did you keep giving him free art? I mean, why not just put your foot down, say "No, only commissions" or "no more corrections"?

Date: 2005-06-30 09:43 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] wyna-hiros.livejournal.com
I'm aware of that, but he's griping about a free picture, which he has no right to. He's not paying for it, and you are doing it on your own free time, out of your own good will. :/

*shrug*

Just my two cents here.

Date: 2005-06-30 11:12 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] wolf-nymph.livejournal.com
man, just cut people like that off. I have rarely had anyon ever gripe about commissions, and I pretty much only do paid commissions. But it it's free, then you're doing it out of the goodness of your own heart, so you can let it go whenever you want and just tell him, "I don't feel like doing any more corrections". What might even be better after this is "I don't feel like doing free art anymore," but it looks like you've taken a step in that direction already.

This is the biggest reason why free art is generally not a good thing; there are always people looking to swindle artists who offer free art. Heck, there're people looking to swindle even those who want to be paid for their work!

Date: 2005-06-30 11:28 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dirty-baka.livejournal.com
Y'know, you should really check to see who's in a community before you GO ranting about them.

All I asked was if you could send the picture again. YOU said you would and you never got it again. Our circumstances seemed okay, and you SEEMED Like a nice person after I explained about my computer problems around the time. I'm generally very good about getting trades done, and I did apologize for having VERY bad luck with yours. I NEED your character picture again. I noted you on DA and asked, and you said you'd send. Yet you never did. You have neither badgered me or said a word. Honestly a little note to jar my memory. ESPECIALLY Since I offered this second one for free, without you having to return a gift trade.

So hey, talk to people before you go ranting about them. They might apperciate it.

Date: 2005-07-01 12:16 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dirty-baka.livejournal.com
A month and a half later, maybe longer, I inquire about it. She says she needs the details. AGAIN. Uh. No.

Oh yes I might add. NO, you never DID inquire, I went out of my way to ask you again. I went out of my way to find you and say I was sorry. You, need to cut out the drama and fucking talk to people and quite being two-faced.

Date: 2005-07-12 02:04 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dirty-baka.livejournal.com
As far as I'm concerned, you can DRAMA all you want. Doesn't matter. I'm done with it. I'm actually pretty amused you bitch this much over one little trade you never even completed yourself. So eh. -Shrug.- Sorry it had to end this way. I would have eventually done it, I just had shit luck with my computers this year, and if you go back and check my last round of trades, you can go see all the boobies I drew. So the yaoi attack doesn't work.

eh. I wash my hands of it. Bye.

Date: 2005-07-02 01:24 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] shiroioji.livejournal.com
You know, with how cool and friendly spug is, you would think that people like you would not be so awful. I don't know the other artists you're talking about here, but the way you talk smack about her is ridiculous. She does a TON of art trades on the site I am on with her, and if you cannot be a little forgiving about a person having some shitty computer circumstances, well, you don't really DESERVE for an art trade done by her in the first place.

Date: 2005-07-19 11:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] shiroioji.livejournal.com
A. You're simply being ridiculous. What do you expect? A receipt for the parts she needed to buy? I mean really.

B. After having computer probs, she needed them again. This doesn't seem like an entirely difficult thing to grasp. If you had just sent her the info instead of being a brat about it, she would have gotten to doing it.

C. Blah blah blah. More random crap that doesn't solidify your case but rather just attacks her credibility, but since you're being so lame about it, it makes your case weaker.

D. Ah, and an oh-so-mature personal retort aimed at me! We have gotten more intelligent in our argument, eh? Well, no, much dumber, actually, but whatever. I am sorry that your mom didn't eat enough folic acid while you were in utero, but please don't take it out on everyone else that you were born retarded.

Profile

artists_beware: (Default)
Commissioner & Artist, Warning & Kudos Community

December 2017

S M T W T F S
      12
3456789
10 11 1213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 03:50 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios