[identity profile] onai-wolfwind.livejournal.com posting in [community profile] artists_beware
So back last August I took a fursuit commission from Foxxyfire, aka Kyle Foxalope. This was done in person, so I really don't have any screen shots, but I'll give ya what I can.

I had gotten into a car accident, and was in need of some cash, and being an aquatint (not really a friend, but I knew the guy) he offered to get his partial suit from me to help me out, and to get a lower priced suit. I offered to do it for $400 if he'd give me a pair of shoes so I didn't have to order them. He went right to the ATM, and paid me all up front, $400. Now I don't usually take all up front, but he insisted, and I really did need the money. Besides, I know everyone he knows, and figured there wouldn't be any problems. No due date was given, he just said he'd take it when I was done.

This was all at a local fur-meet that we did weekly. He said he'd bring me a pair of shoes at the next meet. He told me for weeks that he'd bring them "next week". Well, he never did, and the weekly meets started to die, and everyone stopped going, him and myself included.

So a couple months after, me and Furbrications, who was working with me at the time, had his suit pretty well under way. SHE gets a call from him saying he wanted ME to come pick up his shoes. (He didn't contact me, he contacted my friend, who had nothing to do with the original commission, she was just over working with me.) I lived on the other side of town, and having no job, didn't have money to get myself there. She told him he could come drop them off instead, and that we would be there when he arrived. He agreed and said he'd be on his way. About an hour later we get a call saying he wont come drop them off, that he was going to mail them instead. I said that was fine, and he said he'd send them right away. We never got them.

So another month goes by and he calls HER again. "hey come pick up my shoes". We need to remind him of our last conversation, and he insists that we come get them. I have no way to. I really don't. She asks him again to bring them over or to mail them. He agrees and says we'll have them soon. Still no.

So sometime in March I started working on his suit again. I wanted to update him on it and ask about said shoes, so I send him a note on FA.

note I sent - http://i462.photobucket.com/albums/qq345/onai-wolfwind/kylenote1.jpg

The note says it's been read, but I have no reply from him. So I send him another one asking if he got the first.

second note - http://i462.photobucket.com/albums/qq345/onai-wolfwind/kylenote2.jpg

Again, this one is sitting in my out box, saying he's read it but with no response. I shouted on his page but those just go ignored as well. I'm not sure if they've been bumped off his page or deleted, but they're not there anymore.

So, a few weeks ago, before Elliottts Spring Gathering, I get a call from another friend asking if her suit would be done for ESG. So we get talking about it, and she says she's rooming with Kyle. I asked her why he hasn't contacted me about the suit, and that if he had just done so in the first place, I would have his suit done for this earlier event instead. She says she'll talk to him about it. I get a call a bit later from her saying he's been calling Furbrications in an attempt to get a hold of me, and sending me notes and calling me, but he can't get a hold of me. Which is just bs, because I've been trying to contact him with no luck. So she gives me a message from him asking if he can have the suit by Elliotts if he brings the shoes. This i 4 days before the event. I said I'll do what I can, but I didn't get the suit finished. I didn't even end up going, because I got a few dates messed up, and my fiance was going away that weekend, and I had no way to get there.

I texted him apologizing and telling him what happened, and that he gave me too short a notice, but I don't know if he got the message or not. I got no response. I still haven't heard anything from him. I just want to get his suit done and out of my hands! I have the head, hands ant tail done already. But I can't get an address or anything out of him. I guess my best bet is to just bring it to Megaplex and hope he's there?

((((Another example of lost contact from him, this isn't my story but I was along for the ride, but, Furbrications was doing a reversible hoodie commission for him. He bought some, but not all, the materials as part of the payment. He didn't get enough, so she asked him to get more or pay her the rest so she could complete it. He never got her fabric or money, and he kept asking her where his hoodie is. Now he wont contact her about it, and she still doesn't have the materials or money to finish it.))))

Date: 2010-06-10 11:09 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] furbrications.livejournal.com
Yeah. I'm kind of at a loss for this too. I was able to talk to him for all of 5 minutes at elliotts, and he said he'd get me the rest of the money for the commission, but after that, I didn't see him again for the rest of the weekend :/

Date: 2010-06-10 11:33 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kikkomato.livejournal.com
*acquaintance

Not trying to be a jerk, but I seriously had to read the word like four times to figure out what it was. :(

Date: 2010-06-10 11:34 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lilenth.livejournal.com

The customer fails to hold up their end of the contract = the customer's own fault.

I'd suggest telling him flat out that if he doesn't deliver the materials he agreed to deliver that are required to finish his suit then it will not be finished until he does so.

Alternatively you could finish the suit, sell it and refund him from the sale if he persists in messing you around.

Date: 2010-06-10 11:41 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] baronyiffington.livejournal.com
Is it sad that I read:

"Well, he never did, and the weekly meets started to die, and everyone stopped going, him and myself included."

And knew exactly which meet it was? :<

I MISS THE PUB ONAIIII

But seriously: There isn't much you can do. If he won't give you an address or the shoes you need to complete the commission, what can you do about it? Just bring what is done to Megaplex and hope he's around - you still have a little bit of time before MP though, so keep trying. Really, you've done all you can (and should have had to) do.

Date: 2010-06-11 12:18 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] cassu-bean.livejournal.com
Since you've gotten the $400 I say finish the suit and tell him he can pick it up only if he drops off the shoes at the same time. It does seem like you'd be holding the suit for ransom but it might be the only way he'll pay up with the shoes.

Date: 2010-06-11 12:33 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] snarky-fox.livejournal.com
I say finish it, sell it, give him a refund, but keep the 30% for materials and such. This guy is being ridiculous and you shouldn't have to deal with him anymore. :/

Date: 2010-06-11 12:34 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] beetlecat.livejournal.com
Finish it. Send it to him. Don't make/send any feet. You've been paid for it already and the cost of feet should pay for shipping easily if they're located that close to you.

If he ponies up the shoes then make the feet ask for shipping costs and done. If not then at least it's not taking up any room and you can put it out of your mind.

Date: 2010-06-11 12:46 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] furbrications.livejournal.com
This. Doesn't quite work with a hoodie with no sleeves, but it's the best one I've heard :3

Date: 2010-06-11 05:08 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] obsidianwolfess.livejournal.com
Generally agreeing with this. You can always make feet for him later.

Date: 2010-06-11 01:40 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tobekiyoshi.livejournal.com
I know them personally, and I went on their account to point them here, and they just posted a journal 2 days ago asking Who they owed money to. I think they are confused.

Check it out: http://www.furaffinity.net/journal/1463652/

Good luck getting everything settled. =)

Date: 2010-06-11 06:09 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lobotomysoup.livejournal.com
If he is asking he might need a better way to keep records of things.

He might need an electronic post-it note thing or something.

Date: 2010-06-11 11:10 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tobekiyoshi.livejournal.com
Not all of us are skilled at organization. =D But I, am one of the lucky few. =)

Date: 2010-06-12 05:14 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] lobotomysoup.livejournal.com
I sure am not, which is why I really like Tomboy Notes

http://projects.gnome.org/tomboy/

Uh .. there might be something like it for windows.

Date: 2010-06-11 10:25 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] furbrications.livejournal.com
that journals in refference to the bajillion commissiones he lined up a while back. I think the journal was titled "who wants money".

Date: 2010-06-11 11:13 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tobekiyoshi.livejournal.com
( I don't know how to edit comments so I deleted the last one XD )

I'd be all over that, if that was the case. XD

Date: 2010-06-12 03:06 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] kerstin-orion.livejournal.com
From what I can glean from the LJ FAQ, only paid accounts can edit comments. I don't know about Plus accounts (if you have a pencil icon next to your comments, you can edit them, though only if no one has replied to them yet).

FYI, deleting comments is a violation of Rule #1:
1. No screening or deleting comments (INCLUDING YOUR OWN) or posts. Ever...

Please don't do it again. If you make a mistake in a comment, simply repost a correction. If it is something you really feel you need removed, please contact myself or another moderator.

Date: 2010-06-11 04:53 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] dalok-furryhoof.livejournal.com
I was living with him at the time and he shorted the bills for the suit the electric went out and I was stuck paying the bill to get it back on. Greated I am biter cuase we where in a relationship but it does change the fact he is a dick and only thinks of himself

Date: 2010-06-11 10:26 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] furbrications.livejournal.com
I remember that >:l *patpats* o: I totally still have a badge for you...but then pub died.

Date: 2010-06-11 11:12 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tobekiyoshi.livejournal.com
That sucks. =( I'm sorry to hear that.

Date: 2010-09-27 12:33 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] irishneko.livejournal.com
he's still wanting to give the shoes you just won't contact nobody onai

Profile

artists_beware: (Default)
Commissioner & Artist, Warning & Kudos Community

December 2017

S M T W T F S
      12
3456789
10 11 1213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31      

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 06:02 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios